New Orleans: That famous Southern hospitality

Our flight from New York to New Orleans was at 6am, and that should have made me sad, but I was so excited that I felt like a kid at Christmas. Our last few days in New York had been quite cold, but stepping out of the airport in New Orleans was so warm and we were instantly greeted by the friendliest woman – which sums up the whole city.

New Orleans doesn’t feel like America, it doesn’t really feel like anywhere else. The food, people, buildings and atmosphere are so unique and wonderful. We extended our stay, and this is partly because of the hostel we stayed in. If you find yourself in New Orleans, stay in Atlas House. It feels like a home away from home, and the staff are so great. We spent many a night in dive bars with the manager, Sara, and from what I can remember, it was a lot of fun. 

My personal highlight was an exchange I had with a guy by the Mississipi River. He shouted at me, with the most southern accent I have ever heard: “YOU GON GET SUNBURNT”, so I replied “I’ve got suncream on” and he shouted back “BULL. SHIT. THE SUN GON BURN YO’ WHITE ASS”.

Leave a Reply

